• South Carolina
  • Medical use: Illegal
  • Recreational: No
  • South Carolina
  • Medical use: Illegal
  • Recreational: No

South Carolina has some of the strictest anti-weed laws out there and doesn't plan to adopt medical or recreational marijuana anytime soon. Possession of any amount of marijuana is punishable by law, with penalties varying depending on how much you were caught with and how many times you've been caught in the past. Possession of 1 ounce or less is considered a misdemeanor, resulting in a maximum sentence of 30 days in jail and a fine ranging from $100 to $200. Possession of 1 ounce or more is classified as a felony, carrying potential penalties of up to 5 years imprisonment or fines of up to $5,000 for a first offense. You might want to go around this state, especially if you're traveling with medical marijuana.

Frequently Asked Questions

Scroll to Top